Skip to content

Purely Favorites: Sarah Britton

Purely Favorites Sarah Britton

Tell us a bit about yourself… I am a holistic nutritionist, natural foods chef, and blogger. I teach cooking classes all over the world, give lectures, run retreats and workshops, develop recipes for my website (mynewroots.org) magazines and cookbooks, and pinch myself every day because my job never feels like work.

What’s your philosophy on healthy living? Keep it simple! Fresh fruits and veggies every day. Clean water. Spend time in nature. 8 hours of sleep. And play time is essential!

What’s your favorite snack? Fresh fruit. Avocados with lemon and sea salt. Tahini on anything. Chia seeds.

Favorite drink? I am addicted to my warm water with lemon first thing in the morning, but I’ll drink it several times a day if it’s chilly outside. I also love homemade kombucha, green smoothies and white tea.

Favorite workout? Long walks in the woods. Astanga yoga. And I’ll admit, I’m pretty into Turbo Jam! I’ve been doing it for years and it’s kept me really fit, and allowed me to completely avoid the gym for the last five years (I am not a gym person).

Favorite beauty product? Living Libations Rose Glow Face Cream, made lovingly by my friend Nadine in the Ontario forest!

Favorite vacation destination? Just got back from Kaua’i and I may have to vote for that place. It was spectacular. But anywhere that is sunny with a swimming spot and good food – I’m happy!

Favorite flower? Ylang for the scent. Peony for the lusciousnessssssss.

Favorite kitchen gadget? It’s not a gadget per se, more of an essential: I couldn’t do anything without my ceramic chef’s knife.

Favorite book/magazine? Healing with Whole Foods by Paul Pitchford.

Favorite item you can’t live without? My bicycle. It keeps me sane.

How can people connect with you? Check out my website, My New Roots. And come to one of my cooking classes! I absolutely love meeting the people that read the blog, and getting to spend a whole day in the kitchen with them, just playing and eating and connecting over the things that we think are important: delicious, healthy food and building community.

 

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Great interview! Sarah is such an inspiration! 🙂

    April 17, 2013
  2. Thanks for profiling my absolute favorite food blogger (& teacher!) I’m crazy in love with Purely Elizabeth too : )

    April 17, 2013
    • Thank you! She is definitely one of our favorite bloggers as well! Check out our Purely Spring eMagazine that we released today for free, two of Sarah’s recipes are featured! http://bit.ly/JbdXki

      April 22, 2013
  3. Yay! I ❤ MNR, Sarah is such an inspiration. I love her attitude towards food (and life!). Her blog is one of my favourites, amazing recipes, fantastic information, and beautiful photographs!

    April 17, 2013
    • We totally agree! She has beyond the most amazing and inventive recipes and photographs.

      April 22, 2013

Leave a Reply

