Skip to content

Purely Favorites: Erika Surmi

Meet Erika Surmi–blogger at Happy Wholesome, health nut + member of our new Purely Blogger team!

Purely Favorites Erika Surmi

Tell us a bit about yourself… Hello! My name is Erika Surmi, I was born and raised in Missoula, Montana. I am the ultimate health-nut! Growing up in a family with diabetes and celiac taught me a lot about healthy eating and how to be creative in the kitchen. My mom and I were always brainstorming our next gluten-free cookie! Nutrition is my life and I love sharing it with others. I currently share my healthy, happy life and inspirations through my blog, Happy Wholesome, but am pursuing my dreams of attending the Institute of Integrated Nutrition to become a certified health coach. When I’m not covered with flour in the kitchen or doing health research, you can find me hitting the running trails, hiking in the mountains with my dog, Baja, or relaxing on a quiet lake in Montana. I am so happy to be part of this blogging community and I can’t wait to get started! Thank you for this wonderful opportunity!

What’s your philosophy on healthy living? I believe it is important to listen to your body and feed it! I lead a 90/10 organic/non-organic lifestyle, but that’s because I know what my body needs. Whether you need a tweak in your food choices or your body is screaming, “get me moving!” it knows what it needs, so why fight it? Don’t be afraid to indulge either, but in moderation. Life is short so have a piece of cake and enjoy life.

How did you get started blogging? I got started blogging because of Pinterest. Honestly. I was always searching on Pinterest for the newest and best healthy recipes and they all came from blogs. I started thinking, “hey I can do that!” and Happy Wholesome emerged. I wanted to be more creative in the kitchen, but also wanted to inspire people because I was so inspired from other blogs.

What’s your favorite snack? My favorite snack has got to be greek yogurt, a handful of nuts or granola, and a sliced up banana all mixed together.

Favorite drink? Hmmm. I’m a water fan but that doesn’t count does it? If I have to choose I would say coffee saves my life but Kombucha is full of healthy goodness!

Favorite workout? I am big on cross-training, which means I do a lot of different activities. I am an avid runner and yogi, but you can also find me shaking it in an Oula Dance Fitness class.

Favorite beauty product? Coola Suncare Products. Hands down. Sunscreen is the most important item you could ever own.

Favorite Vacation Destination? Hawaii holds a very dear place in my heart. There’s nothing like beach waves, sunshine, and the smell of the ocean.

Favorite flower? I love tulips! They just scream happy!

Favorite kitchen gadget? My Kitchen Aid Mixer I got for Christmas is by far the best thing that has ever happened to me.

Favorite book? To Kill a Mockingbird.

Favorite item I can’t live without? IPod, or music in general. It clears the mind and quiets the soul.

How can people connect with you? People can connect with me through, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest, and Bloglovin’.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

